Posted in Neither Here nor There

Politics and LGBTQ+

There are very few things that I refuse to discuss openly here on my blog. Really there are only two: Politics and Religion. I mostly feel that my personal political and religious views would serve only to distract from the larger focus of this site, which is to promote acceptance and understanding of everyone, regardless of our differences. I want everyone, regardless of their religion or their political stance to feel safe here, and I want to keep judgement as far away from here as possible. If an ax murderer stumbles on to my site I want him/her to feel just as welcomed, loved, and accepted as a cute, cuddly, kitten, as long as he/she is equally respectful and accepting while he/she is here.

However, every day the struggle to keep my political views in check becomes more and more difficult. I love my country. I love what it stands for, or at least I was starting to. I truly believe in freedom and justice for all, and I live in hope that one day the laws of this land can reflect the image that our forefathers painted where everyone is accepted and welcomed in with open arms. I want to be able to say with complete confidence that I am proud to be an American…

But I'm not. Today I am ashamed. Today I look at the leader of my country and hang my head in sorrow, because I know that I am at fault for him being elected and allowed to run amuck. I didn't vote for him, but I didn't vote at all. I screamed as loud as anyone else at the stupidity of anyone who would want to have this red faced loser run the country, but I didn't stop to listen to what those people had to say. I didn't donate money to anyone's campaign, or go to any political events. No one I knew was openly supporting Trump, so I thought we were safe.

I was wrong. I remember on election night refreshing my screen over and over, praying that it was just stuck, and that Clinton would get just those few more votes that it would take for her to win. I didn't want her in charge, either, mind you, but literally anything would be better than this pompous jack ass. Then I hoped and prayed that the electoral college would chose their better judgement, and steer clear of him, but to no avail.

My heart broke for my openly gay friend who had only just gotten married, and my Muslim friend who lives in Japan, but whose family lives here. "What is going to happen to them now that this bigot is in power?" I wondered. "What's going to happen to me?" I couldn't believe that this country that values equality above all else could elect someone who so clearly does not.

Still, I decided to stay silent because, as I said I want everyone to feel safe here. Even Trump. I thought that maybe congress would temper his hate, and that maybe it would be possible for him to do some good. Time after time I am disappointed in this wish. As I read the news, I am filled with despair. He seems to not only be getting away with doing what ever he wants, but it almost seems as if no one can do or say anything to even slow him down.

The latest news in this backward slide towards the dark ages is that he's trying to take away the right of transgender people to serve in the military. He claims, and some of his supporters agree, that trans rights are an un necessary distraction, and that their reassignment surgeries would cost the government too much money. I don't understand this. Is the red blood they spill for this country any less worthy than that of someone who identifies as the gender that they were born with? Is their love for their country any less pure because they need surgery to be able to be who they really are?

I am not someone who could ever picture herself joining the military, but I have known at one point or another someone from each branch of the military, and not one of these hard working, patriotic people has ever had anything negative to say about serving with a trans person, or anyone else from the LGBTQ+ community for that matter. So why would it then be a distraction.

I am not trans. However, I do know what it's like to be different, and I can't stay silent and watch from the sidelines while an already marginalized group is further discriminated against. Especially now, when they have only just begun to adjust to having this right, only to have it ripped away again. It is not right, and no one should be okay with this.

Author:

Hi, my name is Jen, and I am a bisexual, bipolar thirty something woman, with OCD and SAD. I love to write, draw, and take pictures. I also have a passion for how the human mind works, and I love studying the effects our biology and environment have on our psychological makeup.

3 thoughts on “Politics and LGBTQ+

  1. Very well said, and a good reminder that many of those who did vote for Trump did so because they felt marginalized, too. For those who voted for him to try and help themselves or their families from job loss, still unaffordable healthcare, etc. and are now feeling the effects of what he truly was instead of what they hoped he was, we still need to welcome them and engage with them. It’s the only way we might be able to work together after the madman is out of office to try to actually move forward.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

