Posted in Write like You Mean It

Fiction Frustration

Alright, here’s my problem.  I have this great fiction novel that I’m working on writing, and I am just madly in love with everything about it.  The premise is great, it’s about a therapist’s transformation from a neurotic shrink into a serial killing vigilante.  The characters are amazingly deep, and I’m writing it in the first person, which is a new style for me.  I’m really pouring a lot of myself onto the pages, and it is super fun to write.  The thing is, for some reason today I just can’t get the words to come.  I know what happens next, and I know how I’m going to write it, but when I sit down to put the words on paper (not real paper, I’m writing it on my iPad)  nothing comes out.

So I decide to get some inspiration by listening to some music.  Big mistake.  “Bohemian Rhapsody” by Queen popped up on my playlist and I found myself going down a rabbit hole with songs about running from the law such as “Renegade” by Stix, and “Wanted Dead or Alive” by Bon Jovi.  Now I have a new story idea knocking on my mental front door, and begging to come in.  I don’t know yet if it’s going to be a young couple in love, or a pair of siblings, but there’s going to be just the two of them, on a crime spree that spans the entire U.S.  I think it’s going to start with the two of them meeting while one of them is already on the lam.  I don’t know if it’s going to be a stand alone book where they die at the end, or if I’ll leave it open for a sequel by having them arrested instead.  There is a lot I don’t know about this story yet, and I really want to find out more, but I’m trying very hard not to think about it, because I don’t want to get distracted by a new project right now.

Then again, since they are similar in genre, they could provide inspiration for each other, and since I will most definitely be writing the new story in third person it might provide som much needed relief when I’m feeling burned out on writing from inside my therapist character’s head.  I was hoping, though, to have my first story ready to try and find a publisher by next spring.  Maybe that’s a little ambitious.  I don’t know how long these things normally take since I’ve never been through the process before.  Of course if I have two books to peddle, I would be able to hedge my bets a little too, so maybe I should write them both right now.

Ok, after thinking it over, I have decided I am definitely going to work on the both of them.  It just seems like a good idea, as long as I don’t let it get away from me.  Just the two, though.  No more than that, okay brain?  I’ll never be able to publish a book if I can’t finish a single first draft…

Author:

Hi, my name is Jen, and I am a bisexual, bipolar thirty something woman, with OCD and SAD. I love to write, draw, and take pictures. I also have a passion for how the human mind works, and I love studying the effects our biology and environment have on our psychological makeup.

Leave a Reply

